First prototype PCB. Any tips or pointers? (arduino giga hat)

Hi everyone,

I’ve been working with KiCad for a few weeks now, slowly learning and trying things. I feel I’ve gotten to a point where it looks pretty good. It’s not finished yet but maybe there are some things I need to stop doing and improve before continuing. I’ve run the DRC a few times and managed to find solutions to most of the problems listed. The ones remaining refer to things I’m not quite sure where to find or fix.

The main one is “no edges found on edge.cuts-layer” After I changed the footprint the board. I see the layer but I don’t know how to add edges or definitions of them.

I’m trying to create a hat for an Arduino Giga. I went straight for the drawing part and discovered I actually needed tot start with the schematic. I have no previous experience creating schematics and it’s basicly just a shield with connectors and de-coupling capacitors on it, nothing fancy.

I wonder if I placed the capacitors correctly and if the connection routing is ok-ish.

If anyone is willing to take a look I’d be grateful!

Darn I’m just now noticing I can’t attach the project as a new user :frowning:

EDIT: project attached at the bottom

Here is the Schematic

Read:

At edge cuts you should have continuous shape (made of line sections) surrounding the whole PCB. Along this lines the factory will cut your PCB.
If at your screenshot the gray line is it then it looks that blue line being out of it is wrongly placed there.
Of course the best would be if you post zipped project.

Very good that you did schematic. There are some people that stubbornly want to design PCB without a schematic loosing that way 90% or more of help offered by KiCad.

Added later.
And about schematic:
To many wires. For example at any place you connect any pin to GND you can use GND power symbol and it is enough. All GND symbols are invisibly connected (wires not needed).
You can see some others KiCad schematics here:

Thanks Piotr!