Unable to connect MAX-MQ8 SMD pins to pin header vias

Hello,

I’m trying to layout a very simple board for being able to test out a MAX-MQ8 GNSS chip.
My goal is to surface mount the MAX-MQ8 chip, and then have each pin connected to a pin header.
There are 19 pins on the chip, and 9 pins on each side of the chip.
I want a 9 pin header on the left, and a 9 pin header on the right of the chip.
I’ve got my layout quite close to how I need it.
But somehow when I am going to draw the track between a pin header, and one of the pins of the chips surface mounted pins, kicad does not allow me to make the connection.
I’m very new to circuit design, so I’m sure I’m missing something stupid.
Any advice on how I can get past that?

Kind regards,
Kyle

only a guess:
probably the board constraints (and/or netclass constraints) are to coarse for that chip.
Look at the clearance-values.

i think you could be on to something there.
i just messed around with a bunch of those values and made them tiny.
and it does seem like i connect some stuff now but not entirely sure…

Probably not the problem (at this moment) but, worth knowing… Walk-Around will prevent user from connecting…

In PCB Editor: Route>Interactive_Router Settings (set as needed…)

If you still experience problems:

• read and follow this New Member Information until you get promoted to basic user
  • than archive your project (kicad-manager–>File–>archive project) and attach the created zip-file
  • than we can look into the project, without guesswork

ok, thanks, will do!

Hello and welcome @Kyle_Lawlor

I suppose you are designing something like these (picture from a well known web site).

To avoid confusion, and please do not be offended, but it is best to get the terminology correct when writing.

A Schematic has Symbols, Pins and Wires.
A PCB has Footprints, Pads and Tracks.

Your Layout has Chips, Pins and Tracks.