Thermal Pad, Solid vias, Thermal Relief, (complete noob)

My main question, should I use thermal vias, and solder through the back of the board to solder the thermal pad to the board?

The data sheet for this TI, TPA3110D2, calls for solid vias. I would like to explain what I think I know, and it would be appreciated if someone could steer my thoughts in the right direction.

Solid via; would need solder paste and heat gun to solder onto the board, but provide great thermal conductivity.

Thermal vias; not sure how to solder the thermal pad to the board, if these vias should remain open to let heat escape.

Thermal pad is just the pad thatā€™s on the back of the IC. but that should be soldered to the via (but not a thermal via?)

Here is whatā€™s written in the data sheet.

I have placed normal vias on this footprint, on the thermal pad, but in 3D viewer, it does not show?
46%20PM

Here is the view from Pcbnew

Any guidance is appreciated. Thanks.

Click on the cogwheel in the 3D-viewer and make sure to check ā€˜Show filled areas in zonesā€™.

Filled areas in zones is checked. But if I uncheck ā€˜solder paste layersā€™ I can see my vias. So now Iā€™m searching for solder paste layers and learn about themā€¦

As far as I am aware KiCad does not even cater for thermal relief vias.
In your case everything is as it should be.

If there are vias in filled zones under a chip they would be covered by the paste layer in the 3D-viewer.

Vias in general have solid connections since they are not meant to be soldered on, except when present as part of filled zones under chips. Purpose here is to have a solid connection acting as a heatsink to the chip.

It is also a good idea to keep the paste patch under the chip rather smaller. Reason here is that too much paste makes the chip simply float, or even drift off. If the chip manages to just float high enough there will be hardly any connections to the pins, and the pain of fixing that mess sets in.

1 Like