Solid State Relay simulation

Hello,
I’m pretty new in using Spice Simulator with Kicad and I started simulating a really small part of my actual circuit. For now what I want to test is the behaviour of VO14642AT (Datasheet: http://www.vishay.com/docs/81646/vo14642a.pdf) when I power it with a square wave (0-5V, pulse width 2ms and period of 33ms). This relay works as a switch, and when it is powered with 5V it allows the current to flow through the MOSFET (which is on the output side). I put a resistance on the output connected to a 5V power source, such that the voltage on the resistance should be 0V when there is no current on the output, while it should be -5V when the output current is enabled. What I observed running the simulation is that the current on the resistance is always 5V, meaning that I am doing something wrong.
This is my schematic:

I took from here the Spice model for the relay: http://www.vishay.com/ppg?81646&designtools-ppg

Additionally, when I run the simulator an error appears:
Error: unknown subckt: xu1 in 0 0 nc_01 net-r1-pad1 vo14642_ct

Thank you in advance!

3 Likes

The error message tells us that the model has not been added properly.

Please have a look at the data sheet for the dc usage of this device.

The input is a LED to be driven in forward mode. You cannot use 5V pulses forward on a diode! Use a suitable input current instead, e.g. by adding an input resistor in series to the pulse source.

1 Like

This is the Spice Netlist:
This is the Spice netlist:
.title KiCad schematic
.include “/Users/giuliacrocioni/Desktop/prova_spice/led/VO14642.lib”
Vin in 0 PULSE 0 5 1u 1u 1u 2m 33m
Vcc Vcc 0 dc 5
XU1 in 0 0 NC_01 Net-R1-Pad1 VO14642_CT
R1 Net-R1-Pad1 Vcc 10
.save @vin[i]
.save @vcc[i]
.save @r1[i]
.save V(0)
.save V(GND)
.save V(Net-R1-Pad1)
.save V(Net-U1-Pad5)
.save V(Vcc)
.save V(in)
.tran 1u 200m
.end

This is a somewhat strange error: