"Save As" from within Eeschema?

I am an experienced circuit design engineer who is trying to learn KiCad.

I do not see any way to “save as” from within Eeschema? Rather than screw up whatever I already have, I would like to save my present schematic as something else so I can try something and go back in case it does not work. What is the best way to do that? Do I just need to close KiCad and use Windows explorer to copy the entire folder structure; then rename?

I am accustomed to going through a lot of files and filenames (In ExpressPCB for example.) I make a new one whenever I am unsure whether a major change is going to work. That makes it easy to go back to an earlier version if I do not like the results.

Best way: version control, create a new branch, test, reject or merge… e.g. with git.

Thanks

Sorry I have heard of github but that is as far as that goes. I do not understand anything about it.

Where do I find these commands you mention?

I feel like a lot of the help material is written for programmers rather than circuit designers…

Bob Zwicker

bobz18188@gmail.com

https://git-scm.com/doc

Thanks again

I think there was something of an information gap in the information which KiCad contains. I had not seen anything to tell me beforehand that GIT was a separate piece of downloadable software which I needed to install and which implements version control. Even the git introductory documentation quickly goes into terms such as SCM which mean nothing to me. It took some patience to find what git is and why I need it in understandable terms.

Anyway I installed the software and hoped for the best as I chose the defaults. This because I did not understand the choices being presented. Originally it seemed to indicate that it will be just command line interface. Although I was a dumb user of DOS 30 years ago, I hate to go back to it now. After installing GIT I see that it has a GUI.