No contact crossing wires

Hi,

I’m quite new to KiCad, I’ve created one PCB so far that was a copy of an existing PCB that we didn’t have the layout files for. I’ve got some schematic drawings to do, they aren’t PCBs but cabinet wiring diagrams, I thought I could use Eeschema.

My question: is it possible to get Eeschema to show not connected crossing wires with a “bridge” rather than a flat crossed wire ? like this: http://www.ibiblio.org/kuphaldt/electricCircuits/Ref/01048.png

I think not. Never come across that option before.

No, but for electrical wiring you’re better off using a tool specifically for that. You can bludgeon an ECAD schematic editor to make the diagrams but it’s really much easier to use electrical diagram tools and you get nicer results.

Hi,

thanks for the replies and confirmation that I can’t do “bridged” non contact crossing wires.

I have the same need for KiCAD in between PCB designs as the original poster RaptorUK.

I have created a simple 2-pin schematic part which consistents of a small arc connecting the two pins, so the whole thing takes up 4 grids of a 1.27mm grid size. The arc radius is 1 grid, so the semi-circle ends up 2 grids in diameter. I set the part name and reference fields to invisible.

The result looks like this, where two of my little schematic symbols are being used to jump over another wire:
http://postimg.org/image/qnuza5s1x/

It works great for me!

1 Like

Hi Kyran,

that looks like a good workaround, thanks for posting the idea.

regards, Simon

This is something that just makes wiring much clearer. It would be nice to have it automatically jump around non-connections as stated in this path. If memory serves, ADS can be made to do this. This is my defacto circuit simulation reference as it seems to be the most powerful in my work. That being said, Cadence and Altium are also very nice. My work is typically in the microwave regime and above though.