Need Help with Flex PCB Replication for Automotive Instrument Cluster

Hi everyone,

I’m working on a project to recreate a flex PCB for the back of an automotive instrument cluster on a Triumph TR7. The original part is no longer produced, so I’m trying to create a replacement. I want to use KiCad for this project, but I’m a beginner and need some guidance.

Here’s a link to the image of the part I’m trying to replicate: Click to see image (https://i.ibb.co/jVStpqX/TR7-Instrument-Flex-PCB-Flat.png).

Schematically, the part is relatively simple:

• Illumination Bulbs - large, 2 half circles with hole X 4
  • Indicator/Warning Bulbs - smaller, 2 half circles with hole X 10
    • Service Interval Warning
    • Coolant Warning
    • Parking Brake Warning
    • Brake Warning
    • Seatbelt Warning
    • Oil Warning
    • Ignition
    • Choke Warning
    • LH Indicator
    • RH Indicator
  • Components - Semi-circular pads with holes
    • Voltmeter
    • Fuel Gauge
    • Tachometer
    • Clock
    • Temperature Gauge
  • Connector Strips - 1 @ 12 pin, 1 @ 6 pin

I initially tried using EasyEDA before finding a similar post on the KiCad forum (Re create an old part from picture). I tried following that and using the new reverse engineering features in nightly to import my image into the KiCad PCB Editor, but I’m still missing some fundamental knowledge.

Here are my questions:

1. Do I really need to create a schematic for this project? I know exactly what I want to produce visually.
  2. How can I create the correct holes in the board for the PCB through board lamps?
  3. Can you provide any tips or resources to help me get started with KiCad for this specific project?

Thank you in advance for your help!

1 Like

Your image directly dragged into my post: