Internal Cu layers in 3D viewer

Hi all,

I am new to KiCad and to PCBs, pls bare with me;) am I correct in assuming the KiCad 3D viewer (which is awesome btw!) cannot render the internal Cu layers of say a 6 layer board, but only the top front/back sides?

I tried to check/verify a SMA connector / microstrip with via stitching which uses multiple layers but the 3D viewer doesn’t seem to show those internals layers

What’s going on? Thanks for any clarification!

/Tobias

1 Like

I don’t know what is going on with your PCB, but KiCad’s 3D viewer is definitely able to show the internal copper layers.

Here is an example, taken from the Olinuxino A64 Rev C (Also a 6 layer PCB):

And the settings used for the 3D viewer (Preferences / 3D viewer)

Some noteworthy notes:

• Turn off Solder mask layers (because they cover most of the outside of the PCB).
  • Turn off Board Body (which also obfuscates the internals)
  • Turn off Realistic Mode This gives each copper layer a different color (I think the same as in the PCB editor).
  • Experiment a bit with the settings. Different sorts of inspections work best with different settings.
1 Like

Yeah Paul, good tips. I have never seen the inside properly before and finally selected all of your config settings and it makes sense now. It is also nice that zone-fills can be turned on or off:

When I turn zone-fill off I see a trace on layer 3 so it is showing all copper except filled zones.

Thank you so much for your tips! I could solve my issue=)

Encouraged from your confirmation and example that shows that KiCad is able to render internal layers, and starting from your settings, I was able to “fix it”.

The default preferences of the 3D viewer has “Show Board Body” enabled.

Disabling that, a view through the transmission line (basically through one of the SMA connectors) now looks like this (expected):