Foot print for Powerpak 8x8L [SOLVED]

Hello All,
I am looking for a footprint for the PowerPAK 8 x 8L SINGLE (Page 15). I am not very good at drawing a footprint. Would anyone know where i could find one ?

yes, I do. hint, read the topic right below this one.

The footprint seems to be unique. The links within the link, couple of them are broken. All i have is the pdf, i will try to figure it out.

Bite the bullet and draw your own footprint. This will be very rewarding on a long run.
I didn’t bother with stock footprints since my KiCad day one.

1 Like

Thanks just began doing it.

So from all the reading i understand its best to use freecad and stepup to do the footprint.

Now sadly none of the tutorials starts from scratch. its always from one of the existing footprints or a 3D model.

I haven’t used Freecad/Stepup for footprints!
It’s 3d only, useful for 3d models.
You can do your footprints in KiCad’s footprint editor. Your particular example is some 10 minute work.
Just if you’re starting take your time to learn the standards, so your new footprint will be compliant with your future work.
Start here: Tutorial: How to make a footprint in KiCad 5.1.x (From scratch)?

1 Like

Thanks.

From the datasheet i can see the dimensions but the placement from the origin is kinda confusing.

In the datasheet attached, the placement of the main pad which is 8.00 long and 3.99+0.50+0.85=5.34 high. Are coordinates for these mentioned as y=4.05, x=1.29 ? how is the grid set ? In the tutorial mentioned here. The author uses a formula but not clear on what it is based.

Well on the information found in the datasheet of course :wink: The molex connector of that tutorial has its info spread over two drawings and i explain in the text that it is rather hard to combine the two drawings in that particular case.