What is the point of sheet title blocks in PCB editor

When I was working in Eagle many years ago I remember that there was no title sheet in it’s pcb editor. And I don’t fully understand why they are there in the first place. I also don’t make use of them in the schematic editor despite many tutorials say I should use them.

The thing is, I make many PCB designs bur for my own buisness. So far I have just one whole revision. Had to move some screw terminals a few 0.1mm. But other than that I practically have no revisions.
I am the only one looking at the designs. I don’t document designs using PDFs because… well I have Kicad if I need to look something up.

I get that in a large company with coworkers, regular pcb revisions there is a need for them. But I have no experience in such matters. Nor do I expect many revisions. If I would have a revision I would backup the project and stuff it in a zip folder.

I am however starting an official buisness and I wanted to ask. What reasons do I have to start using the sheets in alteast the schematics or the pcb editor?

Kind regards,

Bas

P.S.
I removed the title sheet for one of my projects.
(I secretely like that I can put the top left corner of my PCB in absolute 0 point. Otherwise the sheet would run right through the PCB)

afbeelding

AFAIAC none at all for the PCB. I don’t use the PCB layout title block. I never print the PCB layout, only display it. For the schematic the title block provides info in displays and printouts.

2 Likes

The reasons are probably mostly historic. KiCad has roots going 25 years back and in that age people tended to use flattened and bleached tree carcasses a lot more, computers were slower and monitors were smaller, so it also made more sense to make some printouts for reference, and when you make a bunch of printouts, it’s easy to mix them up if there is no date or revision number on it.