Web Viewing of KiCAD Files

This is a question about what features the community would want to see in a web viewer for KiCAD files.

I’ve been using the STEMN beta for about a month, and I’m really liking it. It’s a way to share and collaborate on hardware projects online that uses Dropbox or Google Drive to keep files in sync.

https://dev.stemn.com/

They have in-browser rendering for many file types, and they’re currently discussing how to support more open source file formats: FreeCAD, KiCAD, etc. The EDA renderer is also up for a possible rework. If you scroll down to the 4th comment on this thread you’ll start to see the discussion that sparked this post. There’s also a separate feature request for KiCAD support here.

I’m interested in KiCAD file support in STEMN because one of my projects relies on KiCAD. However, I’m new to KiCAD, so I don’t know what features would be best in a viewer. There’s an online service called eyrie.io that seems to have a good web viewer that supports KiCAD, but again, I’m a newbie (to KiCAD and electronics design in general).

So that leads me to a few questions.

1. Are people interested in web viewing/rendering of their KiCAD files?
  2. Are there already open source web viewers and/or parsers out there for KiCAD? I found a couple by Googling, but they seem to just be experiments.
  3. What views does a web viewer need to show from the file(s) (schematic, pcb, 3D)?
  4. What features do you feel are most important (mouse interactivity, layer handling, etc)?
  5. How many different versions of the KiCAD file format are there? Are they all backwards-compatible?
2 Likes

Id plot the schematics and/or PCB to svg format. Then it should be easy to compare different versions. GitHub does offer online SVG diff tool.

For PCB to svg all you need is a PCBnew, as all footprints are already part of the PCB file.