Trace width for 12 A

Hi all,

I just want to preface this question by disclosing that I’m very new to Kicad so bear with me.

In my PCB design there are two tracks that can carry up to 12A. I used the calculator built in Kicad to determine the width of the tracks (using trace thickness of 0.35 mm) and it came out to ~9.3 mm. Obviously this is large, so I thought using a zones would be appropriate. Below is what I was thinking. Is this a good idea? Is there a better way of approaching this? Also, I find that the zones are fairly close and I’m not sure if that is enough clearance with such high current, but I don’t know to avoid that. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

That looks about right, although I do not know how wide your tracks are.

You can make the gap next to the IC a bit wider, but the width of the gap between the copper zones is mostly irrelevant. There is no voltage over it because it’s shorted by the shunt (or Hall sensor) in your IC (I assume it is that).

The track width you calculated probably was based on a temperature rise (default 10deg. C) If you extend the zone to area’s where there will not be current, then those area’s still work as a heatsink to lower the temperature of the zone.

The next step up would be to use thicker copper.

1 Like

You can also use Top and Bottom copper together for twice the power.

1 Like

Zone are the best thing for this job.

Based upon what you stated about ~9.3mm, this would imply you are using 1oz copper (reversing Kicad value).
The concern is Kicad’s calculator uses IPC-2221 for this and this has been superseded by IPC-2152. Using an IPC-2152 based calculator results in a trackwith of 24.4mm (for 10C temp rise, 1oz copper)

Now some say IPC-2221 is “good enough”, IMHO it isn’t… and a doubling of the needed trackwidth is testament to this. Ill leave it up to you with regards to what width you feel is correct.