Tips on pcbnew workflow…?

Noob here trying to layout my first PCB. I’m really struggling to find a way to place the components. This circuit I’ve already built on a breadboard and it actually isn’t that involved but the rats net views in pcbnew turns so crazy complex that it’s really hard for me to use it as a feedback for placing components:

I’ve searched a lot for info but maybe this is still a dupe of another question, but is there any way to turn off the rats net for specific nets? In particular, this is an analog synth module with +12V, -12V and GND going more or less everywhere. If I was able to turn those nets invisible in the rats net views I could group components together based on the other more local nets.

Any tips on how to think about laying out is highly appreciated! My workflow right now is to grab a component move it around the entire screen a lot to see if there’s any connection to a “non-global” net that sticks even when moving it about, then trying to group those components that really need to be connected together. Either that, or it feels like I need to go back to the schematic and place the components based proximity there because the rats net view per default just doesn’t help me much.

I like to group with numbers. For instance, power supply parts all in the low 0 - 9 range. Then a group of 10 - 19. Like U10, U11, R10, R11, R12, C10, C11, etc…

I also try and group components in PCB as I go along instead of waiting till the end.

If you have something with lots of components then you can move to the 100 -199 range.

Hi @hedefalk,

Which strategy to use for placing components is very much a personal thing, so I’ll just describe the way I do it.