Thermal reliefs for vias

I cannot get thermal reliefs to work. I am new to Kicad and have left settings at default. In copper zone properties. Clearance 0.508mm, min width 0.254mm, antipad clearance 0.508mm, spoke width 0.508mm. When I look at the various planes I cannot see the thermal reliefs around vias. The Pad connections box appears to be gray although I can select Thermal relief. I am using version 4.0.7. platform windows 8, 64 bit but my windows is actually 10.

The KiCAD copper pours do not place thermal reliefs around vias. Thermal reliefs are only placed around pads.

(The purpose of a thermal relief is to make it easier to solder a connection - especially when soldering is done manually. Pads exist to make soldered connections; vias are only for electrical continuity between layers in a board. Since vias are usually NOT intended to receive solder, there is no reason for vias to have a thermal relief. That is also why KiCAD’s default behavior is to cover vias with soldermask - often called “tenting” the vias.)

Dale

2 Likes

Thanks that makes a lot of sense. I still have a problem however when I look at through holes. I have top layer for ground connection GNDA but I cannot see the thermal relief on a through hole. Also when I bring up Copper zone properties I would expect to see the attached net for each layer. For instance when I click on F.Cu the GNDA Net is highlighted as it should be but when I click on In1 Cu and In2 Cu they also have GNDA highlighted but they are connected to other power nets. If I change the Net to that shows for all nets. There seems to be no association shown. The association must have worked when the plane was set up because the connections are correct but i cannot easily check the layer net connection. Thanks again for your help… Mike

I don’t think I’m following your description of what you see. Which canvas are you using? Can you annotate a screen shot or two to point out what you’re seeing?