[SOLVED] So disappointed.with KiCad

I apologize for stepping on any toes, and at the same time take my hat off to the programmers of Kicad.
But as an old old programmer I feel I must say something about Kicad’s version “BACKWARD”
compatibility. Who would want to build a house, and then later have to disassemble it because the tools used to build it are no longer compatible with the new tools purchased. Before trying to upgrade from 4.0.7 to 7+, I had a notion there would be issues. I was right. There were serious ones too. Then I tried going to version 5, the same things. My humble advice to anyone wanting to use Kicad is start with the latest version, and only upgrade if you are starting with fresh files. I hope more progress will be made with footprints, symbols , and 3d models too. It is possible to build software that is 100 % backwards compatible. The end product will win awards for perfection. Again my apologies for any ill feelings caused.

2 Likes

Hello @wil001

A strange post.

You write about moving from 4.0.7 to 7.0.X, which is forward compatibility and then you write about backward compatiblity as if this was the problem.

If you are having problems upgrading, please ask questions on this forum. That is the forum’s purpose.

1 Like

I had a notion there would be issues. I was right. There were serious ones too.

What exactly? Maybe you can be more specific so the problems could maybe be solved. Just saying that there are problems without saying what exactly they are doesn’t help.

4 Likes

You feel how you feel . . . no need to apologise, I’ve gone from V5 to V6 and now V7 without issue so I can’t help with V4, but there are people here that have experience with V4 → V5 etc. I’m sure they can help if you still need/want help.

1 Like

That library update bit us all as far as i can tell.

Things move smoother in this area the last couple releases though.