[solved] Ratsnest not updating correctly (reason: symbol, same pin number, different pin name)

Hi, I’m a student who is new to both PCB design and KiCad, I’ve spent a good while looking through some tutorials and been doing fine in my work so far. Now I’ve got a new mini-project going and my goal is to produce a prototype PCB for some testing of a couple of resistors. I want to use the method of 4-terminal sensing, and have therefore drawn a schematic with 2 N-type PCB mounts.

Now, the problem I’m having is that, when I start PCBnew and read my netlist, all the footprints load in correctly but not all connections are drawn. One of the coaxial connectors gets left haning in the air. Like this. (Not sure how to attach pictures)

Also, here is a picture over the schematic in Eeschema. I’ve already tried moving around the joints with “G” to check that everything is indeed connected.

Any help would be appreciated!

You should be able to drag and drop pictures into the reply box. (As a new user you can only post one picture per post.)

Now to your real problem:
I noticed that sometimes pcbnew does not update the view correctly. In this cases it helps to restart pcbnew.
You can also try to switch between opengl and legacy canvas. And run drc.

If this does not help we might need more information.
Especially: What kicad version are you using. What operating system.

2 Likes

Did you try to switch to OpenGL yet? [F11] (back to Legacy via F9]
It shows the ratsnest a little bit better.

Also, post the netlist file if this doesn’t help you.
We can check if the net is correct or not… it’s just 4 devices, shouldn’t be big.

PS:
pictures can be attached by either using [Ctrl]+[v] in the reply window (if you got one in the clipboard) or there is a little button for uploading things and last but not least you can drag+drop images from your computers explorer into the editor box as well…

2 Likes