SMD diode footprints

I am relatively new to SMD parts. I am using a 5.6V zener (Vishay PTV5.6B-M3/84A) which uses a DO-220AA footprint. When I got the boards back I noticed the footprint pads were swapped (one is big ad the other small) and did not agree with the cathode mark/band. I thought I just screwed up, but looking at the spec for the diode and then the generic DO-220AA I see the footprint assigned both ways.

Is there are standard where normal diodes are one way and zeners are the other? Or is this just random.

for reference:

Vishay data sheet
3D Content Central

I believe it’s just random. DO-220AA standard does not specify which side should be the cathode, and typically zener diodes have the same polarity as standard diodes in comparable packages. It seems that this specific diode is just special in that regard. The datasheet you attatched confirms that the cathode is the smaller pad on page 4.
It’s probably related to the physical construction of the PN junction inside, typically cathode has a bigger surface area and is used as a primary heat sink but in this case it’s the opposite.

Thanks, that makes sense. What I find disappointing is the the footprint on Mouser, is backwards. That’s were I got it. I have gotten several bad footprints from SamacSys. The symbols are usually unhelpful. Fortunately I tend to design with a few dozen parts,so that’s not so hard once I have my library set up.

Mouser part

FYI. I have reported the error to https://componentsearchengine.com we will see.

They fixed so fast or I don’t know where to search.
If at their page I serach for your diode and then click ‘Download model’ I see:

what seems to be correct (cathode (pin 2) is small).
Where is (or was) the bug?

My original statement “It’s not fixed yet. That footprint is wrong. Pin 2 (cathode) is the large pad.” is wrong, see below.
From the Visahy data sheet linked above.

Since beginning of this thread I don’t see where is a bug you are trying to show.