Simulation dosen't work in Kicad

Hello, I am new in using Kicad, and i tried to simulate a 7408 logic gate, I took the Pspice model from Orcad Cis Lite for it and put in the project file. The circuit is like in image below and the model aswell.
When i try to simulate this with a transient .1 1 the simulator stop working and a restart of the program is required. I don’t know what’s the problem here but I wait for your response. Thanks!

This is how it looks like when the simulator crashed

Anyway you can ZIP up your KiCad project (including the Pspice model library) and upload it somewhere so I can download it and take a look?

Sure, here it’s the link.

Cool. Thanks.

I don’t get a crash, but I can see several problems mainly due with assuming you can implant this 7400.lib from OrCAD into a generic SPICE program. If you analyze the .lib file, there seems to be many things which are relying on the OrCAD GUI to provide additional information. First, are the power rails which OrCAD seems to handle “behind the scenes” with some global power flags called $G_DPWR and $G_DGND. Second, much of the ICs described here call other generic subcircuits such as and(x), buf3, and inva(x) which are not defined in this .lib file. It’s likely OrCAD is including another .lib file in addition to this one to supply these generic functions.

Basically, it’s going to take additional work to successfully convert these logic libraries to be used in a generic SPICE problem. So it depends what you need to accomplish. If you just need to implement a trivial AND function, there are more simpler and universal ways to accomplish that.

1 Like

Honestly, I need to implement this circuit for my paper license. I tried to use Orcad but the lite version dosen’t let me to use more than 60 components, so i looking for other program to implement this circuit.