Schematic Symbols disappear all the time (KiCad unusable)

Hi, I’m new to KiCad, have previous experience with Eagle and played with Altium for a while. I have a very annoying bug, which is a complete showstopper for me and makes software unusable.

Details: I use SamacSys library with library loader to import parts from mouser. So when the part zip is downloaded, it is automatically integrated into KiCad and I can place the component in the schematic right away from SamacSys library.

Once I place the component(s), in 5-10 minutes all my components disappear and become double question marks. ALL of them (well, all two for now). If I go to their properties (“E”), the library is there, it’s hooked up. If I manually select the library again, it doesn’t fix the issue. The only solution is to delete that part from the schematic and add it again. Until it disappears 5 minutes later again.

I googled everything I could, and everyone says it’s a problem with a library (thanks captain obvious), but there is no solution to it anywhere, and the software becomes pretty much unusable (and I REALLY don’t want to go back to Eagle, it’s ugly beyond description). I tried to restart KiCad and PC, didn’t change anything. Is there a way to make sure the components stop disappearing?

I have created the symbols on my second monitor before I wrote this very text. As I’m writing it here, both symbols on the second monitor are already just ??

Tech details:
KiCad 5.1.6
Library Loader 2.44
Windows 10

Firstly SamacSys library is third party and nothing to do with KiCad.
My first suspicion is that your zipped library is being opened by Windows, but not actually exploded to disk, so when the memory cache ages out it vanishes. Is the unzipped library on the disk?
What is the path you are saving this library to?

edit
Why are you using an old release, 5.1.10 is the current stable?

1 Like

The FAQ section of this forum has a good tutorial of how the library system works.