Schematic for battery switch

Let me preface this by saying I’m very new to KiCad and circuit design in general.

I am designing a wireless split keyboard, and I’ve come to the point where I’m going to add the battery connection. It will be connected to a MSK12C02 switch. I found schematics for a similar approach I wanted to take, except that it uses a JST jack for connecting the battery. I don’t want to go down this route, and instead want to solder the battery directly to the board, and I am looking for feedback on the schematic for such an approach.

Below is the schematic I’ve created. I removed the JST jack and replaced it with two pads, where I intend to solder the wires for the battery.

Does this schematic look correct? And what is the purpose of the jumpers? If anything in this schematic could be simplified or is wrong, please let me know. Thanks.

What is the intended use of those square symbols for J1 and J2?

With the jumpers (JP1 though 4) you can switch the battery polarity to these square pads.

The pads are intended to be where I will solder the battery wires. Though its likely not the correct symbol to use for this, as they will probably be assigned to some sort of through hole where I can solder the wires, at least I think thats how its done?

So if I understand correctly, the jumpers are there as a failsafe? If I were to solder the battery wires incorrectly or a manufacturing issue that causes the polarity to be flipped.

So J1 will be positive and J2 will be the negative of a battery and what was there before was a 2 Pin JST connector, so far ? but if you had jumpers 4 and 1 installed the battery would be short circuit ? if JP3 was connected J1 would be short to ground (GND) what am I missing please ?
:mouse:

It seems that schematic looks correct, but we don’t understand how is this circuit intended to work.