Removing soldermask from all objects

Kicad 8.0.3, Windows 10

Please forgive me if this has been asked and solved before. But I am new to Kicad and have only six designs under the belt. I am working on my seventh design - a ruler with various information and footprints on it. I want it to be made with a black soldermask with ENIG prints. The reason for not using the silkscreen is to make it more durable.

So far I have placed footprints and edited them, so the relevant parts are in the copper layer. Likewise I have drawn schematics etc. in the copper layer. Maybe this was a bad idea, because when I remove the soldermask for the entire surface, of course, the PCB is no longer black but FR4-greenish.

Is there a clever way to remove the soldermask on all objects, or at least one at a time, e.g. right click and remove the soldermask? Or do I have to draw soldemask negative objects over all objects to make it a tight fit?

PadDiy

Drawn schematics in the copper layer? I think you mean drawn tracks. Soldermask is removed from pads but stays on tracks. So I think you’re asking if soldermask can be removed from tracks. I have no idea about that. What other objects do you have in mind? Graphics and text?

Maybe a screenshot of your situation will be better than words.

As this is not a circuit, why don’t you simply copy the topside copper Gerber and rename it as the solder mask?

2 Likes

I do think he means schematics. Maybe something like a NE555 example circuit or basic opamp things to put on the ruler as a memory jogger.

On a PCB, the “green stuff” is the solder mask. You can change the colors in KiCad, and you can order the colors you want. Both solder mask and Silkscreen is pretty durable (but not infinite). ENIG also wears.

You can draw on the margin layer (with non zero line thickness. You can also use rule area’s or put “aperture pads” (pads without pin number and no copper) directly in the footprint.