Relating pins and pads [KiCAD pitfalls for newcomers]

I’m fairly new to KiCad, coming from Eagle, and I’m not sure I understand the process of connecting symbols and footprints. In Eagle, the process is very simple, straightforward, and, for the most part, not very error prone. In my first KiCad project I ended up with a 3-pin voltage regulator wired wrong because the symbol pins didn’t match the footprint pins.

I’m using an MCP1754 in the SOT-23 package.

The following are a set of packages that this part has:

The symbol has the Vin pin labled with a 1, and the Vout pin labeled with a 3. This is correct for the SOT-89 package, but not for the SOT-23 package.

In Eagle, you assign symbol pins names, and link those to pad numbers for the different footprints when you create a device. It appears to me in KiCad that there is some sort of assignment of pad numbers in the symbol. How do you then deal with different packages that have different pad numberings?

Did I miss a step when I should have assigned symbol pins to footprint pads?

I made this mistake with my first board, made with Orcad; many years ago…

You must be sure to match the pin number of the symbol (schematic) with the pin number of the footprint (layout). That’s all.

Whether you do that changing the pin numbers of the symbol or of the footprint, kicad doesn’t worry.

1 Like

Currently in kicad you need one symbol per package in such a case. (for the 8 lead package you should also include the nc pins in the symbol.)
In the official library we require the package name to be given in the symbol name for such cases. (At least we do now. There is a chance that old symbols do not follow this rule. There is also a chance that the library maintainers make a mistake.)
See the symbol variants section in the library FAQ for more details. (On how we handle it now in the official library. For your personal lib you can do what you want.)