Purchasing Libraries

Hi, KiCad Newbie here.

I have a fair understanding of Footprint, Symbol and Symbol Libraries now but I am wondering how users are storing their “Purchasing Data”. With only one schematic symbol (a resistor for example) and one footprint (0603 for example) there are a LOT of possible part values. And each part value can come from multiple vendors with multiple Vendor PNs (cut tape vs reel for example) and various costs at different quantities.

I started out with Parts & Vendors a long time ago, rolled my own solutions, but I am curious how other KiCad users address these issues.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Bob K.

I rolled my own and used MySQL and pyODBC … The GUI written in Python and wxWidgets.
P&V was great !

Obviously the KiCad libraries are only a starting point. You might like to browse previous forum topics on the use of the database integration feature that arrived in v7 for solutions others have adapted. Unfortunately as yet there is no Database category on this forum so you might have to do some searching with suitable terms.

In case you have yet to stumble over that forum feature: top of every page near your avatar is a grey magnifying glass. Click on that.
In your database case; ignore any pre 2023 posts because databases only arrived with Kicad 7.

Hello @rkondner and welcome to KiCad!
Personally, I often rely on plugins, and a familiar colleague assists me using Python to enhance data management capabilities according to my requests.

Hi,

Since KiCad 7: PostgreSQL with Manufacturer, Manufacturer Ref., Supplier, Supplier Ref. fields. I also have a field with the price to have an approximative components costs when generating the BOM.

I have organised my way when KiCad was V4 so don’t use yet KiCads new features.
I have a list of all elements I use in LibreOffice spreadsheet (at first tab-page).