Please review my board

I wonder if someone would be so kind as to take a look at my board and give it a quick review.

Please be keep in mind that I’m just a rank amateur at this. This is the third revision of this board and actually only the first board I have designed. I hope my lack of knowledge isn’t too glaring. :slight_smile:

just a note, I realize some may not like the lack of reference marks for the parts, but I prefer the clean look.

Thanks in advance for your criticism.

GTReef.zip (803.4 KB)

1 Like
  1. I don’t like to stand TO-220 parts up vertically like that. They become quite vulnerable to being broken or vibrated off. Also, that will then be the tallest part on your board by a fair bit, won’t it? It seems like there is plenty of room to lay that part flat on the board. If surface mount was an option I personally would prefer that too.
  2. I’m not really sure why you decided to put SMD parts on both sides of the board. It looks to me like it would be quite trivial to keep all SMD parts on one side, which will decrease assembly costs.
  3. Some of the JST connectors in the bottom right quadrant don’t have the +/-/whatever marked on the silkscreen which seems inconsistent.
  4. You’ve put vias inside surface mount pads. That’s asking for soldering problems. There is only a limited quantity of solder paste that gets stencilled on, and if it wicks into a via you may not have enough left to get good fillets on the pins. For the big thermal pads on the DC-DC converter section this shouldn’t be a problem, but probably will be for the SOT-23 parts with vias in the pads. Consider the volume of that through hole compared to the area of the pad.
  5. I would add a whole pile more vias all over the place to make sure there is a good low-impedance connection between various areas on the ground planes.

EDIT: above notes made from looking only at the screenshots - I did not download the files at the time, somehow missed that they were attached.

1 Like