Placing a crystal below a DIP socket

This is my first attempt at pcb design. I’m designing a board for a microcontroller.
I want to place an HC49_U crystal inside a forty pin socket since the crystal is only 3.5mm tall. On a perfboard placing the crystal inside the socket and two decoupling caps outside the socket works nicely. The problem appears to be that the 3D rendering of crystal #39 in the library is too tall.
The safest thing to do is place the crystal on the outside of the socket so that if I got the footprint wrong I could still bend the pins. What should I do?

Placing Crystals under DIP IC’s can be a bit finicky, and therefore not recommended for high volume production, but I assume this is for a small number of boards.

If you did a test fit on perfboard and it fits, then it will also fit on a PCB.
THT crystals are also quite forgiving and flexible because of their long leads.
If you still have doubts, then you can leave a bit of room free on the outside of the IC, at the location of the crystal pins. Goal is that if you @#$%^&* your crystal position / footprin for some unforseen reasont, you can drill 2 holes through the PCB and solder the crystal directly to the uC pins.

1 Like

Not just finiky i would say a bad idea with regards to EMC. One should place the crystal near the pins that connect it, with a nice guarding around. Nothing on the bottom side (No traces, nothing unless it is a two layer board then a separate GND area there.)

A good application note that details this: https://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/application_note/c6/eb/5e/11/e3/69/43/eb/CD00221665.pdf/files/CD00221665.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.CD00221665.pdf