PCB designing for 6 layer

Dear Kicad

I have few questions related PCD designing this is a 6 layer board and i am pretty new to PCB designing

Questions:

• now if i understand correctly all the ground points in the circuit are connected to the ground plane am i correct i was wondering can i route normal data through the ground plane?
  • And all the VCC from source to device are connected using power plane am i correct i was wondering can i use this layer as well to route data using the power plane?

Regards

IMHO, you shouldn’t for both situation. Excluding vias.

1 Like

Thanks keryseykaryu

then what is the purpose of Ground/power layers internet says they are reference points but i am bit confused.

1. Are all ground point in the circuit connected to the ground plane am i correct?
  2. now how does devices get power is it from the power plane if yes then basically there are multiple devices requiring different voltages. in that case how is the power plane used?

Regards
Nick

Those planes make it easy to get power/GND to your devices as one just has to put a via besides the pin that needs it and it will ‘dive’ to get the appropriate connection. That’s way easier and less error prone than routing signals/power/etc. by hand all over the place.

For I-can-‘tap’-into-Vcc-or-GND-anywhere-I-want to work, those planes have to be undisturbed planes, without other tracks routing through on that layer. Even other layers (signal) can be affected, unless you use buried vias.

Not so simple… let’s say you got analog ground and digital ground.
Means, you have two ground planes on that ground layer… you naturally will align/orient/place components that need either so, that the respective planes get “as clean and big as possible”… or whatever your design rule tells you.