Newbie Help, Flexible Trace Circuit

I am a newbie to KiCAD and schematic design.
But many years ago received an electrical engineering degree and I have plenty of software/design/cad /engineering experience.

I’m trying to create a flexible PCB circuit with a specific custom shape that is mainly just traces with a mask on top, bottom, and some drill holes. A friend of a friend helped me make one using his companies highly specialized software, and we got it manufactured via PCBWay. It came out great!

I’d like to learn how to make them as I have several more designs to create and he’s super busy, too busy to do more or help.

Any tutorials for this specifically, or anyone willing to assist in teaching me how to do this in KiCAD?
A made a simple example using FreeCAD

https://ibb.co/6BQTJ8R <- This is the one we created, and want to make variations
TIA!
-Larry

You could probably use the StepUp FreeCAD workbench. https://wiki.freecadweb.org/KicadStepUp_Workbench

1 Like

BTW, do you know about flexible PCB design in advance? It’s not the same as rigid. For example all corners should be rounded. Search for example for “flexible pcb best practices” and “how to design flexible pcb” with google.

1 Like

KiCad’s own drawing functions for Edge.Cuts are quite limited. If your oultine fits reasonably well on a regular grid, it is quite doable to draw it directly in KiCad, but when the outlines get more complicated, drawing then in a CAD progam is a better option.

You can draw the ouline in any CAD program that can export to a .DXF file, then import the DXF in KiCad and place it on the Edge.Cuts layer.

I have not designed a flex PCB’s myself. Any holes in a flex PCB reate a weak point where the bending radius will be smaller and flex PCB’s tend to break there over time. The flex PCB to the Keyboard of the old Psion 3 and 5MX are examples of these. They had a 2mm round hole in the flex PCB that proved a weak point.