New to KiCad simulator - Possible bug and simulation problem

Hi,

I’m very new to Spice simulation and tried to simulate a simple transistor amplifier.
For this, I created a small project which schematic is shown below (as well as the spice sreenshot).
At first, I got the following errors (I replaced ‘*’ by ‘x’ as some comments wouldn’t show correctly in bold) :

Note: can’t find the initialization file spinit.
xxxxxxxx
xx ngspice-42 shared library
xx Creation Date: Jan 19 2024 07:06:53
xxxxxxxx
Note: No compatibility mode selected!
Circuit: *
Warning: No job (tran, ac, op etc.) defined:
run simulation not started
Error: vector frequency not found!
Error: vector frequency not found!

However, the error changed after closing the simulator and schematic editor and opening them again.
The same happens after closing KiCAD and re-opening the project :

List of plots available:
Current const Constant values (constants)
Note: Compatibility modes selected: ps lt a
Error in line inc. bjts
Not enough parameters
Error: ngspice.dll cannot recover and awaits to be detached

Any help appreciated :slight_smile:

I see several issues, and you’ve obviously not run ERC to highlight them.
First, using global labels is OK, but a wire is safer. Redraw. That removes four of them
Second, for the output, don’t use a global label, but a connector of some kind from the library.
Third, your capacitors are “1”. “1” what? p, n, u? And I’m not certain that “K” is acceptable for resistors, normally “k” is used.
Fourth, the simulator expects C-B-E as pins for a BJT. Yours is B-E-C. Fix the pin sequencing.

That should be a good starting point. And run ERC before simulating.

Thanks for your suggestions.
I applied the mods (J1 excluded from simulation) but still get the same text output.

The schematic looks OK now.
But does the transistor have a Spice model? You need to add this yourself.

Yes, I used the model from the manufacturer: