Need help laying out a footprint for a socket

Hello there,

I’m new to KiCad and need some help, a push in the right direction. I’m trying to map out a breakout board for a 100 pin QFP, dimensions included. I’ve watched a few videos but haven’t figured out the easiest way to place a through hole pad, one at a time. Any ideas? Thanks

I don’t know what the more seasoned users of KiCAD will suggest, but personally I’d create me two footprints:

• one that contains the QFN-100 package (easy peasy, might even exist already?)
  • and the other for the plated through hole array (how you need them), as the pad numbering and order will then be easier to control via array creation

Both then need schematic symbols with 100 pins each that you have to connect up in Eeschema to get the wiring in pcbnew done with DRC enabled.

To get you started:

Next step would be to edit the position of PTH #21:
X: -9.425 (= 18.85 / 2)
Y: +14.95 (= 29.9 / 2)
And then make a new array that fits the structure of the bottom sector and so on…

PCB_QFN-100_Adapter.kicad_mod (2.4 KB)

PS: the PTH hole in that screenshot and the ones in the file are missing copper on the back and the mask as well, you need to change that if you want to take the file.

1 Like

This looks like exactly what I needed, thanks! I’ll run with this and post an update in a bit.

1 Like

I can’t upload what I have so far (new user) so I threw it on a free hosting site. I can never tell if I have the dimensions exact.

http://www.filedropper.com/pcbqfn-100adapter

I also found the package in a library and have that going.

You somehow managed to create pads for the first sector twice… they are all on top of each other and you forgot to modify the pads to have copper and mask on the back as well.
Also the numbering for the sectors 3 and 4 are not taken care off.

PCB_QFN-100_Adapter.kicad_mod (13.7 KB)