MicroSD component/footprint [Help]

Hello! I’m new to KiCAD and was wondering if someone could help me. I’m trying to design a microSD port and don’t know if there is a connection type in the ‘conn’ library I can use or if i need to create the component/footprint. If i need to create it a little tutorial would be appreciated. I’ve tried to download some libraries and footprints of breakout boards but they are odd file types (.brd?) Thanks for the help!

I saw the microSD in project from here Problem with net names on pads in pcbnew
If the @odinnn will not have anything against you can borrow it from his project.

Also here

Feel free, it is drawn after this part:

http://no.mouser.com/ProductDetail/ALPS/SCHA5B0200/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuJakaoiLiBpogHQ8AEN5F%2FqZ%2F4k%2FQQRzA%3D

My uSD that works with the uSD push-push connector one usually get’s on ebay:

symbol… uSD_push-push_ebay.lib (755 Bytes)
footprint… Conn_uSDcard.kicad_mod (5.6 KB)

The “datasheet” I used (think I found that on some aliexpress page fro the product)…

Sorry, no 3D model for that one yet… :slight_smile:

3 Likes

@Joan_Sparky I was just going to ask… :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

1 Like

Pin 9 pad looks a bit close to the housing ground pad

0.2 mm from edge to edge.

According to the drawing:
Pad 9 is 0.7 mm wide and it’s center 6.6 mm from the centerline.
Pad 6 in that corner is 1.2 mm wide and it’s center 7.75 mm from the centerline.

7.75 - 6.6 = 1.15
Halves of each pad are 0.35 and 0.6 mm respectively.

The space between them thus comes to:
1.15 - 0.35 - 0.6 = 0.2 mm

The board I have used this on so far came from Elecrow and their smallest pad-to-pad distance is 0.15 mm or somewhere around that afaik.
Looks close, but OK.

Here is my variant of a socket similar to the above named GCT-MEM2055-00-190-01-A.
The zip file contains the schematics symbol, the pcbnew footprint and the 3D model.
http://cs.ozerki.net/zap/microsd.zip