Mains AC on PCB?

Hello! Dangerous (deadly) combo here, I am a complete noob at hardware engineering, this is one of my first PCBs, and it happens to have household AC on some nets. I’m really hoping to clarify some things, see attached picture for reference. I have laid it out best I can to separate the low voltage digital traces on one side, and the thicker ones are AC.

1. How far do AC line and neutral traces need to be separated from digital traces?
  2. How far do AC line traces need to be separated from AC neutral traces?
  3. How thick should the copper be for AC traces?
  4. What should the width be for AC traces?
  5. For all above questions - Is there a document I can reference (I am in the US)?
  6. Like I said- total noob, if there are any other glaring issues with this board I’m not aware of, I would certainly appreciate to hear it! For example, I often see polygonal planes of copper in people’s designs, and I get that can be easier to manufacture, but I don’t know if I should be doing that-- and the “route tracks” tool seems to steer me away from it.

My gosh be careful!!! I am a semi-retired power supply design engineer and I used to design AC/DC power supplies for many years. While power supplies (are you designing a power supply or something else?) routinely put AC (non Safety Extra Low Voltage) onto the same board as SELV circuits, I do not recommend doing it without careful guidance.

UL and IEC standards are not free although I guess they may be available through some libraries. Here are a couple of references:

https://www.google.com/search?q=selv+separation+non-selv&oq=selv+separation+non-selv&aqs=chrome..69i57j33i160.10737j0j15&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

1 Like

I have a bit of interest in this topic as well, as two of the boards in my current project have some exposure to AC mains voltage.