Layout for track 'fingers' for a 3.96mm / 0.156" PCB edge connector?

I hereby certify that I am not simply asking someone else to design a footprint for me.

Newbie here - Is there a library layout for track ‘fingers’ for a 3.96mm / 0.156" PCB edge connector?
I’m hoping to make an extender board for a Tektronix 500 series frame, which has a double-sided 28-way edge connector for the plugin modules (SG 501 etc). The track layout couldn’t be simpler - straight lines from one end to the other! (But I’d like to incorporate a couple of inline fuses and test points.)
Where will I find such a standard layout, and at what point do I place it on the board, please?
Sorry for such basic questions but I have no idea (or experience).
There will also need to be a keying slot.
I’d be very gratefull for any help with this.
John

I just had a look at the footprint creation wizards in the Footprint Editor

and I was a bit surprised there is no wizard for creating edge connectors. But it is also understandable. Edge connectors are generally very simple, and KiCad’s footprint editor has a very nice and elaborate array function, and functions to batch change pad properties. Once you are familiar with these it is very quick and easy to draw all the pads manually. You can study some the edge connector footprints KiCad’s default libraries. The BUS_AT and BUS_PCI connectors do not have lines on Edge.Cuts, as older KiCad versions did not have support for this. the BUS_PCI_Express_* connectors do have their outline defined on Edge.Cuts.

So the layout is not quite that simple. :slightly_smiling_face:

Start with the Schematic; ALWAYS.

You will find a 28 pin (or 56 pin) connector in the Connector_Generic library and fuses in the Device library. I use renamed, (to TPx) single pin connectors for test points.

You have two choices, either four 28 pin connectors or two 56 pin connectors. see below.
Note; the use of Rotate and Mirror to locate the symbols.