KiCad crashes every time when opening pcb file

Hi all, I’m new to KiCad and when I tried to open a kicad_pcb file the whole app crashed.
After starting it again I tried to run Pcbnew, same result crashed instantly.
I tried the stable version as well as the nightly build, same result.
Running on a WIN7 64bit PC.
I searched the web and the forum but can’t find anything helpful.
Has anyone got an idea what could cause the app to crash?
Is there a log where I could get some more info?

Cheers
Dietmar

KiCad version?
Do schematic files open OK?

This is the version info from the one running at the moment but as mentioned I have tried the daily builds as well.
Schematics is fine, the PCB footprint editor crashes the app as well.
Application: kicad
Version: 4.0.0-rc1-stable release build
wxWidgets: Version 3.0.2 (debug,wchar_t,compiler with C++ ABI 1009,GCC 5.2.0,wx containers,compatible with 2.8)
Platform: Windows 7 (build 7601, Service Pack 1), 64-bit edition, 64 bit, Little endian, wxMSW
Boost version: 1.57.0
USE_WX_GRAPHICS_CONTEXT=OFF
USE_WX_OVERLAY=OFF
KICAD_SCRIPTING=ON
KICAD_SCRIPTING_MODULES=ON
KICAD_SCRIPTING_WXPYTHON=ON
USE_FP_LIB_TABLE=HARD_CODED_ON
BUILD_GITHUB_PLUGIN=ON

This content does not belong on the forum. Please report a bug and follow the guide lines on https://kicad.org/help/report-a-bug/

So, it’s been about a year from the original post and the problem is still there. I just installed the newest stable release and it crashes when I try to open the pcb (pcbnew crashes). Schematic opens fine. I am also using Windows 7, 64 bit as with the original person.

I like Kicad. I use Altium Designer at my day job and find Kicad to be almost as good. I would like to keep using it but it needs to work on a Windows 64 bit PC.

I know this bug has been reported but it doesn’t seem to be important. Should I move on or is a fix coming soon?

thanks… also, this forum is the place to discus these types of things/bugs.