KiCad and Spice simulations

I am relatively new to KiCad, having created and ordered my first PCB designed using KiCad only a week ago!

As a hobbyist, up until now I have been using LT Spice for SPICE simulation. Now that I am using KiCad for PBC layout, this means having to design and test the schematic in LT Spice and then re-drawing it a second time in Eeschema in order to be able proceed to the PCB design stage. It therefore seemed like a good idea to experiment with the KiCad integrated ngspice simulator as that way the schematic would only have to be drawn once. I am presently running KiCad 5.0.0 on Linux.

I was able to successfully test the RC Ladder example in the tutorial here so it seems that the simulator is working:
http://ngspice.sourceforge.net/ngspice-eeschema.html

The first thing that somewhat surprised when I started drawing my own schematic (which has already been tested successfully in LT Spice) was that there was not model for a 1N4148 diode or a BC109 transistor. Ok, so spice models can be found online and I already had some of them so I found a standard.bjt library which included the BC109, I copied the 1N4148 model from LT Spice, and used the third party LM386 model that I already had downloaded for the existing project in LT Spice. For the LM386, I made sure to set up the alternative Spice Node Sequence to match the model. Having got rid of any errors relating to model configuration I then got this:

Circuit: KiCad schematic
Original line no.: 1, new internal line no.: 4:
Undefined number [ONSEMI]
Original line no.: 1, new internal line no.: 4:
Cannot compute substitute
Original line no.: 57, new internal line no.: 125:
Undefined number [PHILIPS]
Expression err: philips)
Cannot compute substitute
Copies=392 Evals=395 Placeholders=3 Symbols=7 Errors=5
Numparam expansion errors: Problem with input file.
Error: ngspice.dll cannot recover and awaits to be detached
Note: canā€™t find init file.

** ngspice-27 shared library