KiCad (6.0) project files encrypted and can not be opened [SOLVED]

Hi, I’m new to KiCad but an experienced pcb cad user.

I have a new schematic and pcb project completed but when I reinstalled KiCad in a new folder it will not now open any of the previous project files. The message “You don’t have permission to open this file” appears. I have tried a large number of Google search suggestions re changing ownership etc but nothing works.

It appears that KiCad is automatically encrypting all the files it generates. Can anyone explain how I can get access or I will have to redo the project.

Also is it possible to use KiCad without it encrypting the files?

First what OS and what version of Kicad? Kicad doesn’t encrypt files as far as I know.

Yes, what OS and KiCad version? Lack of permission doesn’t imply encryption. It could be normal account permissions. I’m pretty sure there is no encryption in KiCad. It’s not proprietary hostageware.

Yes I “fixed” a weird problem in a schematic not so long ago. There was an invisible component far away from the rest of the schematic. I was able to open the schematic file with a text editor and delete the information for that symbol. That was not the only time I have opened KiCad data files with a text editor. I am definitely not a software expert so if I can do this, most others on this forum can do so also.

From the help Copy version data…

Windows 10 x64 (up to date)

Application: KiCad (64-bit)

Version: (6.0.0), release build

Libraries:
wxWidgets 3.1.5
libcurl/7.78.0-DEV Schannel zlib/1.2.11

Platform: Windows 10 (build 19042), 64-bit edition, 64 bit, Little endian, wxMSW

Build Info:
Date: Dec 24 2021 19:17:02
wxWidgets: 3.1.5 (wchar_t,wx containers)
Boost: 1.76.0
OCC: 7.5.0
Curl: 7.78.0-DEV
ngspice: 35
Compiler: Visual C++ 1929 without C++ ABI

Build settings:
KICAD_USE_OCC=ON
KICAD_SPICE=ON

Windows 10, KiCad version (6.0.0)