Include heatsinking vias of footprint to GND area

Hi, i am new to KiCAD and designed a pcb for reducing 24V to 5,1V. Everything works very well so far. I have 1 last problem with a footprint of Texas instruments. This voltage regulator have 8 vias under the ic which should be connected to the gnd area. There is a recommendation in the technical data sheet, but i am not able to include these vias to my gnd area. Any suggestions how to do it would be highly appreciated. Thx.

Welcome ! Glad to hear that you are having fun with KiCAD !

Which footprint is that, could you write the full name and maybe link to the technical documentation?

Why are you unable to do it? Do you not know how to create vias? Are the vias too big ? Pleases do explain a bit further in able to do any kind of suggestions.

it is always helpful to state exactly which version of KiCAD you are using, there are some well know bug with some old version or different ways to achieve what you wish.

Open KiCad Footprint Editor and look how it is done in KiCad Library.
In Library Package_DFN_QFN each footprint with name ended with “_ThermalVias” contains that.
For example:

In KiCad Library you probably will be able to find the right footprint for your IC.

as @Piotr has shown, there are relevant footprints with thermal pad GND via’s.
However… do you really want to go this way? Technically this is “Via in Pad” and this results in one of two things

1. Via’s are placed just like this and during reflow the solder wicks through the via’s and can cause issues

2. You formally request “Via-in-Pad” from your fab house and they epoxy fill these vias to mitigate wicking. This is an additional cost.

In either case putting via’s in a pad will drive additional process at the fab to ensure the pad is level post-drilling. This drives cost or some fab’s don’t care.