Improve silks for SMB elements

Today I designed my first PCB ever and I hope this will be the last question I will bother you with… forever.

Designing was quite a fun, however, I am kind of unhappy with the result. Below is the picture obtained after uploading gerber file to the PCB producer:
downImg

Those white lines, corresponding to silks layer, make little sense to me. Maybe this is because I am not an electrical engineer? I would prefer that silks would correspond to fab layer, where outlines of individual elements are visible.

So I would like to ask you two things: are such silks normal and if not, how to improve them?

PS. I was playing a little bit and transformed Fab file into SilkS file in text editor. What I got is more pleasing to see, but probably those lines going over copper pads are not OK.

downImg1

Yes the white lines are the silkscreen and this is meant as a visual guide during placement or debug.

It appears you have turned off the reference designators when you generated the GERBERS. This would have made a bit more sense if you were to look at the PCB.

Two points w.r.t. to your suggestion with the FAB on the SILK

1. you can’t have silk on pads. A good fab house will clips this, a bad fab house will print on the pad
  2. putting silk under SMT is generally not a good idea as it raises the component and thus causes reflow issues - less of a concern if you are hand soldering.

The part outline aligns quite well with IPC-7351 where there is a general silk for the component body and an indication for pin1.

My advice, install the FANTASTIC interactiveBOM plugin https://github.com/openscopeproject/InteractiveHtmlBom

I do not even bother with refdes anymore due to this

Your PCB is quite densely populated and that does not leave much room for any sort of silkscreen. You also did not leave any room for mounting holes :slight_smile: