I cannot connect tracks to SQJ504 component

I am pretty new to KiCad and I am facing an issue to connect tracks to a component using KiCad V:7.0.9.

The component is the SQJ504EP (Datasheet), I have downloaded the symbol and the footprint from Ultralibrarian (Symbol & Footprint).

When I try to connect the drains to existing tracks I get an error as shown in the following image:

When I try to connect an existing track to the drains, the track cannot reach the pad.

How can I sort this problem out?

The startpoint violates DRC usually means there is some object in the way. For THT pads it is often lines on Edge.Cuts. For a footprint downloaded from an EDA library site in combination with the unusual pad shape, I suspect the pad itself is designed with a graphical polygon instead of a pad.

Also, V7.0.9 is an obsolete / old KiCad version. KiCad V8 has been released last february, but if you want to stick with KiCad V7, then upgrade to V7.0.11. Increments in the third number are bug fix updates and updating is always recommended. For more info you can read the Release-Notes on the offical KiCad website.

It is because the footprint was made poorly. The two large pads have polygons on the copper layer but are not connected to a net, violating DRC.

The fastest option to use this broken footprint is to change the Interactive Router Mode. Go to Route -> Interactive Route Settings and change the mode to Highlight Collisions. Then, make sure Allow DRC Violations is ticked.

Of course, when you run DRC, it will continue to complain. You will have to ignore the violations.

Another option would be to use KiCad 8 so you can connect the polygon to a net. Unfortunately, you cannot set that polygon in the footprint. So, you would have to edit the footprint and delete the large polygon. Then re-draw it in PCB and connect it to the appropriate net.