How to print accurate size

Hello,

I am new to KiCad, I had design pcb layout as per requirement, but when I print the layout it’s size different with actual size. I have find out x & y scale but unable to set value for x and y scale with my installed kicad application.
I am using kicad 5.1.2 version
Please find attached print dialog. Please help me to set accurate x & y scale so that i can print accurate pcb layout for pcb etching.

Thanks in advance.

kicad_print_dialog

Look under plot. groan… 20 character padding.

The separate scaling for x and y was always in the print dialog. Plot never offered it and does still not offer it.

Sadly it seems this feature got removed. I opened a bug report for it: https://bugs.launchpad.net/kicad/+bug/1836473

There is some logic to that, plotting is usually to a file and you do not want any scaling.
Most printers are not quite accurate and different in X and Y. This might be an A4 vs Letter thing or according to some stories, a legal requirement to fight forgery

How much time will take to resolve this bug, is there any option where I can print layout with accurate size…so my stopped work will start before it.

Try using the correct options under PLOT. That should print out the correct size. That’s what I do to check board sizes.

@vaibhavdchavan, one thing that you can do is “this affects me too” on the bug report.
I noticed that you have not supported it yet.

At this point, a fix for the scaling won’t be included in the 5.1.3 release. There is also no real estimate for how long it might take to fix. Clicking on the “this also affects me” on the tracker can help, since that can let the devs team know it is more widespread/wanted.

1 Like

I see no mention that anyone suggested clicking the Page Setup button to ensure that the Page Size is the same as the Paper Size in your printer.

There is a high proportion of printers defaulting to Letter size when they are fed with A4

1 Like