How to pan in schematic editor and pcbnew when you don't have a mouse?

Hi. I am very new to KiCad and am trying to migrate from Eagle. I have a gazillion questions, but here is a very basic one. I can’t pan around a schematic or board. I haven’t used a mouse in about a decade. I use a Mac with a wireless trackpad or a Wacom tablet. There is no equivalent to a “centre button on a mouse” that I can see. Help?

How do you pan in Eagle?

In Eagle you just hold the pen on the Wacom tablet and ‘drag’ to pan. Doing group edits requires an easy selection of a group selection tool just like many other programmes.

I just discovered Use Touchpad to Pan. It’s a bit of a pain as I have use fingers rather than pen, and have to toggle touch on and off on the Wacom, but at least it works. But I am surprised there’s no pan tool or hotkey activation of panning with mouse/pen?

Why are you surprised?

Might not be a lot of people who use KiCAD that way.
Wacoms I’ve seen in use with the Photoshop crowd who do stills or textures (essentially 2D artists) and 3D sculpters (Zbrush comes to mind).

Asking the other way around… how’s Wacoms scripting/macro ability/support?
Can you program features for the tablet that would ‘simulate’ mouse-actions on the computer?

1 Like

KiCad loves hot keys. “With KiCad your left hand will be on the keyboard” (one could add “like never before”). Why undo the natural action of click and hold to move content i.e. pan? Better to have a hot key change this function to group selection or at least a setting to control this behaviour. For example: Hot key P = pan or Preferences: left click and hold = 1) pan or 2) group selection; the latter requires a hot key for group selection so perhaps a simple hot key for pan would be better. I’ve gone from using one input device to now three at once. I could not see a hotkey assignable for panning.