How to organize libs and modules

I’m new to KiCad.
I found out how to create my own libs for my own symbols and footprints.
I understand that the generic libs are read-only.

At this point, I think I have to decide how to manage libs.
My idea is to work on a set of copies of the generic stuff. In the copies, I should be able to add symbols and footprints, or just edit the generic ones if needed.

Is that a good idea?
If so, how to get there?

Nope. Not a good idea.

Managing loads of different versions of libraries is a headache, especially for a beginner.

As a beginner it’s probably best to not focus too much on library stuff, but get to know KiCad itself better first.

So use as much as the default libraries as possible (They’re quite good), and for the missing parts, put those in a single (or a few) personal libraries.

When you have some more experience with KiCad, and your personal libraries grow, it’s quite easy to organize them better if needed.
But don’t try to make some “perfect” system, if your goals are not even clear.

2 Likes

@paulvdh I’m new to KiCad, but expirienced in eagle, so I got your point.
This time, my goal is to start well organized from the beginning. Organizing things when they turn out to be messy is a PITA.
In my first two tiny KiCad projects about half of the devices are not in the generic libs (phoenix connectors SPTA and SPTF, EOA pushbutton, AL5809-XX-P1-7 constant current souce, WE WL-SMTW-led…).
The led for example: Neither symbol nor FP are in generic libs, so I create them, no big deal. But where to save them? In my own libs? What name should it have, “LED” is occupied already? OK, I name it LED_custom-made. But next time I need a LED, where can I find it? There are two libs for LED by now.
That’s what I try to avoid: Two stores for one kind of goods.
My goal is clear is the aspect of what I do NOT want.