How to duplicate a PCB layout in Kicad 5?

Hi all,

I am new to Kicad 5.0 yet have in the last couple of days come to appreciate the relative simplicity of the eeschema sub-program. I would say that it allowed me to make a relatively complex schematic faster than I have done previously - great help & thanks for making this program available :wink:

However, in the schematic I have made there are 12 power supplies (PSU) which are more or less identical. Thus, when importing the netlist to PCBnew I would like to make just one layout of this PSU circuitry and then copy eleven times - AND update the eeschema schematic to reflect this copy in PCBnew (subsequently with the correct global connection labels).

Does anyone here know how this is done? Would be fine with a link to a youtube tutorial, or some other tutorial where it is shown how it can be done ā€¦ I have skimmed through this document:

http://docs.kicad.org/stable/en/getting_started_in_kicad.pdf

• and watched Digikeyā€™s Kicad tutorial videos but I canā€™t see any information about this ā€¦

Thanks for reading and for any help in this!

Jesper M

If you made you schematics with PSU circuitry in one hierarchical page, this is doable via Replicate layout action plugin. If you donā€™t have support for WXPYTHON, you can still run it in standalone mode

2 Likes

Hi Mitja ā€¦ Thanks for your feedback :wink: ā€¦

I am, however a bit unsure how I should interprete what you write: Does this mean that copying a part of a PCB layout in eeschema and/or PCBnew is not possible without some kind of plugin - like e.g. yours? There is not by default a way to do this in the basic KiCad installation?

I am asking because I am not at all a programmer - and from looking at the link you provided I donā€™t really know:

1. Exactly which programme files to copy (and how do I make them a .py file - as it seems to be required)