How do I freehand layout a board without a schematic?

I am a total newbie and am trying to layout a pc board cabinet and need a lot of help! I see nothing in the tutorials about doing freehand layouts. I need 2 opposing sides that are notched in the center to accept tabs the thickness of the pc board material. The front and back have tabs that fit into the tabs for the sides and then are soldered to form the box. The back panel has some connector holes. The sides are both the same size. The front and back are the same size but slightly longer than the side pieces. Do I use the polygon tool? If so, how do I add the tab or notch?

How do I even start doing something like that. Everything except KiCad requires a schematic and of course there is no schematic associated with a pc board box.

Thank you.

I would design your box with notches and everything in any 3d or 2d cad that can export dxf. Then import side profiles as edge cuts into pcbnew, add zones and soldermask cutouts to taste.

Or if you don’t need to many notches you can just hand draw the outline directly in pcbnew (use poly line tool, not polygon).

1 Like

Empty schematic is also schematic.

In general, if someone wants to see a workflow without schematic supported better, give a thumb up in https://gitlab.com/kicad/code/kicad/-/issues/1996.

I only need one notch or one tab, depending on whether it is a side or a front/end piece. The one back piece needs some cutouts but all the others are just copper clad pc board material with no holes.

Yes, if I understand correctly, @Southerner won’t have any circuitry on the PC boards. He is simply using the raw PCB material to construct an enclosure. This is a mechanical design task, so a mechanical design tool is probably a more efficient choice than the KiCAD toolset. I have used LibreCAD. Even for superficially “simple” board outlines, features such as “snap to”, ease of defining a corner radius, and offsetting one object relative to another are quite helpful.