Front panel holes

I am very new to KiCad. I need to make a pc board cabinet and particularly the front panel. I finally managed to get the cutout for the LCD display although it does not look right to me (does not show up in the layer that I expected). I now need to add several holes for pots/encoders/switches. The holes are 6.2mm and through hole. I also need 4 mounting holes M2.5 or 4-40 for the LCD display and 4 mounting holes in the corners for 6-32 screws. Since there is no schematic involved I was not able to find information about how to layout these holes for the gerbers. Can someone help me?

Thank you.

You can add footprints directly to the PCB with the IC icon on the right tool panel. There are measuring tools,grid and grid snapping to help you place them.

1 Like

You can place mounting holes with or without pads directly into your schematic.

In Eeschema just do a place component and enter mount… There are some predefined.

You can of course always whip up your own mounting holes to whatever specification you may need.

1 Like

It is a pc board making up a cabinet so there is no schematic. It is just a layout.

Almost sounds like a case for Freecad instead.

Yes, it is freehand. I am having trouble finding basic steps since I am not doing a schematic. I did just find “mounting hole” in the footprint but am not familiar enough with KiCad to know where I am placing the hole. I did not see an option to set my reference dimensions to zero so I can measure over and up for placing the holes.

You actually can work with reference points.

On the rhs in Pcbnew there is a 'Place origin point for drill … ’ etc. Play with it.

Invaluably more usefully is the simple space key. In any mode you can set a relative 0,0 origin by hitting that space key, and pay close attention to the status bar at the bottom. If you then set your grid (right click) properly it is simple to get measurements right the first time.