Hide specific ratsnests in PCB

Hi All,

I have a PCB I am trying to route, it is my first time doing something with microprocessor address and data lines. Is there anyway that KiCAD can hide all ratsnests except the data and address lines (in this instance). Would really help out with laying so I can see those better and hopfully align in a way that reduces jumping between layers!

Use: PCB Editor / Inspect / Net Inspector and then simply delete the nets you do not want to see. To repair it, simply redo the synchronization with the schematic.

This is a bit of a clumsy way. Edit: Staub’s method (See Below) is much better.

I don’t use V6 yet, but I have heard that in V6 you can set individual colors (and visibility) for each net lines. So you should be able to hide other nets or make address and data lines red for example. I suppose you do it someway at the panel on the right.

In V6 Appearance Manager you can mute individual ratsnests:

kicad_u674yAscKK

The tab caption “Nets” is a bit misleading, as this controls ratsnests.

3 Likes

Ah, yes. why did I not think of that… Maybe because of

But in the end I’d still rather have the short name in the tab page. If’ you’ve made the connection once you won’t forget and it’s “close enough”. Maybe there are also extensions planned for it. This panel is still quite new in KiCad and it does not have much functionality (yet).

However, in the appearance manager you can not select a group of nets, and clicking on a lot of them individually is a bit of a bore. The Net inspector has a filter and a grouping function. I’m now thinking about a feature request for adding a “visible” column to the Net Inspector.

On second thought.
It does feel it’s just not finished yet. The “grouping” does not seem to do much in the Net Inspector. Another obvious thing is to be able to assign a color to a group of (rats) nets, or to create a group, (maybe based on signals in a bus?) and manipulate them in the “Nets Tab” as a group.

Third thought: