Help with understanding some layout features

I am studying board layout using other projects to study extra topics.

So I found this board here.

It has some metal boxes over some components for shielding RF parts of the circuit.

It also has two metal areas exposed along two edges of the board. I am having a hard time understanding their needs but my guess is it is used to connect something external maybe to act as a heatsink.

Also, a second question I have is regarding the fixation holes. Is it a good practice to connect all of them on the ground or in the carrier board? Or is it better to just connect one, or none of them?

I am not sure if these are good questions for this forum, but it would be nice if someone could give me a hint on this topic or indicate another place for asking these questions.

FYIā€¦

Once upon a time I taught EMC to our engineering staff and found this book was the best resource (at the time, 30 yrs ago). But, still very validā€¦ Especially for designing PCBā€™sā€¦

1 Like

Iā€™d rather suppose solid connecting to metal box (may be it has springs there) being a shield for the whole PCB. And mounting holes ensuring solid connection can also suggest the same.
In one my design I have done exposed track along the pcb edge but, even it was gnd it was separated from gnd fill near it and connected to gnd fill only in one point near the USB connector (the only connector that PCB has). I was thinking several weeks how it should be done and it was the construction being the best according to my imagination about what electrons like to do. But Iā€™m not sure if it is really the best solution. The problem I wanted to solve was credit card size plastic box of this device made of two parts with the possibility of ESD getting inside along the side edges of the housing. My idea was to take such sparks out of my element gnd connections and direct it the shortest way out of my circuit to the USB cable shield.