Help with simulation of buck converter

Hello,

I have been trying to solve issues with running the NGspice all the way till the end. It fails intermittently at different locations. I tried to keep the circuit clean and not use any vendor libraries. Can any one take a look and help me why I am not able to run it all the way.
Simulation_Test1.zip (626.6 KB)

Bumping this up. Hope that i was clear in my explanation

I work with switching power converters including buck converters. I have been using LTSpice for the last 2 years but I am not a simulation expert. I have never used NGSpice.

It looks like you have a discrete sort of buck controller (as in op amps and comparators rather than a commercial buck conversion IC.) I have “rolled my own” power conversion controllers although it has been 25-30 years. When I did this, I went from paper to breadboard without using commercial simulation. I have brute-force calculated waveforms using a spreadsheet (for example) and I suppose that is a sort of simulation.

A couple of things about LTSpice: It seems that having input voltage present at T=0 seems to often cause problems. Best to have the input source step up after T=0 for some reason. Also when using a current source as a load, it helps to tick the “load” box so that it can only absorb power and not provide it.

I am not sure what is gear integration. But maybe trying trapezoidal integration might help (if there is such an option.) LTSpice offers gear, trapezoidal, and modified trapezoidal.

EDIT: For me (and maybe for many other engineers) I would much prefer to design something rather than reverse engineer it. Sometimes I have designed something a few years ago, and it works…and I look at it now and say “how does that work?”

I wonder if it might help your cause if you describe your circuit somewhat so we know how you expect it to work.

Hi Bob,