Help Simulating Voltage Multiplier

Hey all! Newbie here. Been trying to follow a few tutorial videos on running transient analysis on rectifiers and multipliers in ngspice but getting “low time step” errors when attempting to run it in Kicad’s simulator. I feel like I’m just overlooking something obvious, but have tried grounding the output, switching out the diodes, etc to no avail. I’d like to be able to play around with the capacitor values and see how they affect the dc voltage drop and smoothness

Appreciate any help

The ground node for simulation has to be called either GND or 0, nothing else. And it is required!.

Sometimes when simulating with higher voltages, setting some options to relax precision may help. Put
.options abstol=1u chgtol=1e-12 reltol=0.01 method=gear
into a text box on the Eeschema canvas.

If this does not help, please zip your project (including the diode model) and post it here.

I have published a more complex multiplier Hybrid Switched Capacitor converter, 28 to 700 V as a simulation example at Simulation examples for KiCad/Eeschema/ngspice - #4 by holger.

1 Like

Removed the numerical from my ground and input that parameter, did the trick thanks a bunch! Appreciate all the examples I can look through at that link as well.

As some context, I’d like to use a 12-24V transformer with a 1.5-2a rated secondary and some sort of voltage multiplier topology to get 80V+ to the plate of a 12AX7 vacuum tube (draws <300mA) running in parallel with 12-24V AC rectified to power my op amps and tube heater at 12.6V (inrush ~1.3A until heater filaments warm up). In your opinion, is the Cockcroft-Walton multiplier a viable solution? I’ve seen some people selling pcbs that use a mosfett, 555, and voltage regulator to convert dc-dc for this exact application, but have read you shouldn’t use a dickson charge pump for high voltage applications which leaves me confused.

I am not a circuit designer, so I cannot answer your question solidly.