Getting started manual

I’m just new to Kicad

When looking into “Getting started in kicad”
i can not find or do what is described in this manual.
or what symbols or submenu’s described in the manual. i do not see on my screen.

Very confusion if you try to learn and do not see what the manual describe…
esspecially paragraf “7.1 Using Component Library editor”
and paragraf “7.2 Export, import and modify library components

So my question…. The content of chapter 7 is that conform version 5.1.10?
And where can I find a correct description ?

The “Getting started with KiCad” manual is seriously out of date.
I have fond memories of it, because it helped me a lot with getting my first (dummy / example) project finished in KiCad in a single afternoon.

I’ve been quite serious about taking this document under my umbrella and give it a thorough update for quite some time.

I’ve gotten as far as installing git, installing all the dependencies for compiling the source into .pdf, html, etc, and I even got that working twice. (My computer died in the meantime and I switched hardware).

I’m getting stuck on several aspects. First, it’s so obsolete whole chapters should be removed, and maybe others added. Secondly, because of the size of the job I get totally lost. Even keeping an overview of a single chapter is a bit daunting for me. Third there is a lot of overlap with the tutorials Rene Poschl has written as FAQ articles on this forum. For example:

If you go to the documentation on the KiCad site itself:

Then you can choose between different versions, and they do have some small differences and updates, but in general the document is in serious need of more care (although I saw it got some updates not too long ago).

Currently the articles and tutorials in the FAQ part of this forum is the most up to date. It has quite a lot of articles from beginner tutorials to in-depth articles about tasks in KiCad such as library management, and the articles are searchable.