First KiCad Project and New User Introduction

Hello Everyone,
Name is Robert and I am a new KiCad user and fairly new to electronics design. My current designs have stemmed from a direct need of a solution, ‘I need to research what components will work to solve this issue or accomplish this goal’ as opposed to ‘I want to learn electronics’. I have worked with bread boarding, done basic projects and have a basic understanding of all the major components and their functions as well as the basics of voltage, amperage, and impedance. I also have basic understanding of programming and have programmed several micro controllers to do basic tasks.

I am also an automotive technician, specializing in restoration, retro-mods, road racing, engine building and performance and occasionally general repair with 30+ years of experience. I am not looking to become an electrical engineer, but I do need to know how to create custom solutions when the need arises. I typically don’t have tinker time and have to lean on the community for help with getting me pointed in the right direction in finding a solution. My apology if that intro was a bit lengthy.